Mesa Hit and Run Accident Attorneys
Hit and Run Accident Claims
Car accidents are already stressful to handle on their own, but you may feel particularly overwhelmed if you were injured in a car accident and the at-fault driver fled the scene. Unfortunately, hit and run accidents aren’t uncommon. In 2015 alone, the Arizona Department of Transportation reported 13,018 hit and run crashes, and of those, 2,530 resulted in injuries to the struck person.
If you were injured in a hit and run accident, you have options to recover damages even if the driver and their insurance company can’t be found. With 60 years of experience winning millions of dollars for injured clients, Skousen, Gulbrandsen & Patience, PLC can make the recovery process easier for you. Our Mesa hit and run accident attorneys can strengthen your claim, handle communications with your insurance company, and more when you hire us to represent you.
Helping Injured Arizonians Since 1961
Call (480) 999-9181 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our hit and run accident attorneys in Mesa. We’ve recovered millions for clients who have been harmed in auto accidents and can use our knowledge to help you.
Arizona’s Car Accident Laws
Under Arizona’s vehicle accident laws, all drivers involved in accidents have a duty to remain at the scene, exchange information with the other drivers involved, and show their driver’s license upon request. Additionally, if the accident involves injuries, drivers must help by coordinating medical transportation and alerting law enforcement.
Any person who fails to give their name, driver’s license, address, and vehicle registration number after an accident can be guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor and can be charged if found, and anyone who fails to help those injured in an accident can be guilty of a class 2 or 3 felony.
The penalties for hit and run accidents or leaving the scene of an accident in Arizona are listed as follows:
- Class 2 misdemeanor: Up to 4 months in jail, 2 years of probation, and $1,372.50 in fines
- Class 3 misdemeanor: Up to 30 days in jail, 1 year of probation, and $915 in fines
- Class 2 felony: If the driver caused the car accident and it resulted in serious injury or death, they can face anywhere from probation to 12.5 years in prison, and their driver’s license may be revoked for 10 years.
- Class 3 felony: If the driver didn’t cause the accident but still fled the scene involving serious injury or death, they face anywhere from probation to 8.75 years in prison, and their license must be revoked for 5 years.
What to Do After a Hit and Run Accident
It’s particularly important to be alert and vigilant in the moments following your hit and run accident, as any information or details you can give to law enforcement can help them catch the driver and strengthen your injury claim.
If possible, try to take note of the following information:
- Any info about the vehicle that struck you, including the license plate number, description of the car, and description of the driver
- Date and time of the accident
- Specific location of the accident
- What the weather and traffic conditions were like at the time of the accident
If there were any witnesses, it’s important to get their names and contact information. When you hire a law firm, the lawyer can contact these witnesses to ask them to describe the accident and vehicle. Make sure to take photos of the scene, your injuries, and your damaged vehicle.
Of course, seeking medical care should be your main priority, even if you feel that you don’t need it. A doctor is the only person who can detect your injuries and give you the care you need. Stalling on seeking medical treatment or foregoing it altogether can result in worsened injuries over time and may impact your claim.
How Do I File a Claim?
Once you provide law enforcement and your lawyer with information, they may attempt to track down the hit and run driver responsible for your injuries. If they succeed and the driver is apprehended, you can file a claim against them and their insurance company to recover damages such as medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and pain and suffering.
If the at-fault driver can’t be found, you can file a claim against your own insurance company if you have purchased uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage was designed to help policyholders if the at-fault driver lacks coverage, including in cases where the driver cannot be found. Our hit & run attorneys can analyze your existing policy to determine if you’re able to recover damages from your insurance company. We can also handle all communication with insurance adjusters so they don’t try to take advantage of you and pay you less than what you deserve.
Even if you’re unsure whether you can collect compensation after your accident, it’s still best practice to call us first, as your consultation with us is completely free. We’re more than happy to learn more about your situation and offer you options.
Our Mesa hit and run accident attorneys are here to remind you that you have options. Call us today at (480) 999-9181 to learn more about how we can help you recover damages.
Bus Rollover Crash $50 Million
Over $50 million recovered in a case involving multiple attorneys and victims in a bus rollover crash.
Truck Accident $10 Million
We recovered over $10 million for a family involved in a trucking accident case.
Motor Vehicle Accident $5.3 Million
We recovered $5.3 million for a client involved in a motor vehicle accident.
Biking Accident $5 Million
We recovered $5 million for a client involved in a biking accident.
Tire Defect $1.5 Million
We recovered $1.5 million for a client against a tire manufacturer involving a tire defect.
Motorcycle Accident $1.5 Million
We recovered $1.5 million for a client involved in a motorcycle accident.
Burn Injury $1.5 Million
We recovered $1.5 million for a burn victim.
Car Accident $1.25 Million
We recovered $1.25 million in a car accident involving a rollover.
Motor Vehicle Accident $1 Million
We recovered $1 million for a client involved in a motor vehicle accident.
Sand Rail Accident $450,000
We recovered $450,000 for a client involved in a sand rail accident.
A Record of Results
We have recovered millions of dollars for injured clients throughout Arizona and are proud members of the prestigious Million Dollar Advocates Forum.
Experience on Your Side
Founded in 1961, we are among the oldest firms in the East Valley, proudly serving injured clients in our communities for 60 years.
Personalized Legal Solutions
We believe in treating each client and case with the individualized care and attention that they deserve.
When you hire our firm, you will work with one attorney from start to finish, ensuring that your representation is intimately familiar with the details of your case.
Our law offices are open to all who are in need. This is our community too and we want to see victims justified. If you live in the Mesa area and need a team of professionals on your side, call us and we will fight for justice by fighting for you.