December 9, 2011 by admin
According to a recent study conducted by the National Safety Council, a nationwide restriction on teen driving could reduce the number of traffic fatalities by thousands and the auto accident-related costs by billions.
In the study, the National Safety Council explored what could happen if graduated driver licensing (GDL), a variety of laws that restricts driving privileges in the first few years after obtaining a license, were adopted in all U.S. 50 states.
The study found that limiting drivers’ privileges for teens and new drivers could save as many as 2,000 lives and $13.5 billion dollars in accident-related expenses in the U.S. annually.
The study also presents some troubling figures about teens and auto accidents, including:
- Motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death among teens in the U.S.
- Between 2000 and 2009, 81,000 people were killed in auto accidents involving beginning drivers.
The study also found that the more GDL laws in place, the greater the reductions in teen-related accident costs and deaths. For instance, a state with at least one GDL law experienced a 4 percent reduction on average, whereas a state with five or more GDL laws averaged a 38 percent reduction. Typical GDL restrictions include:
- Learner’s permits
- Passenger limitations
- Night driving restrictions
- Additional restrictions in the case of moving violations during probationary period
- Special restrictions regarding cell phone use and texting while driving
- Decals; special licenses
In Arizona, current GDL restrictions dictate that teens must be at least 16 years old and have logged at least 30 hours of supervised driving (20 hours daytime; 10 hours nighttime) in order to obtain a class G (graduated) license, which they must hold for at least six months. With the graduated license, teens cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian or driving to school or work. Also, drivers with a graduated license cannot carry more than one non-sibling passenger under the age of 18 on a public highway without a parent or guardian present. Any moving violations can result in an extension of these driving restrictions greater than the mandatory six months.
In the event that you’ve been injured or incurred damages in an auto accident, a skilled personal injury law can fight for your legal rights and help you get the compensation you deserve. For more information, contact the Arizona auto accident law team at Skousen, Gulbrandsen & Patience.
Disclaimer: The materials available at this website are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use and access to this website or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of the firm or any individual attorney.